The International Topical Meeting on High Temperature Reactor Technology is the sole international conference focusing on high-temperature gas-cooled reactors and process heat application technology. Inaugurated in 2002 by the European High Temperature Reactor Technology Network HTR-TN at Petten, The Netherlands, successive meetings were held in China (Beijing, 2004), South Africa (Johannesburg, 2006), USA (Washington DC, 2008), Czech Republic (Prague, 2010), Japan (Tokyo, 2012), China (Weihai, 2014) USA (Las Vegas, 2016) and Poland (Warsaw, 2018).

HTR 2021 provides a comprehensive networking and exchange forum for professionals in R&D and in industry as well as for decision makers from governments, utilities, end-user industries and vendors. Attendees will obtain the latest results and information on new orientations and perspectives.

This conference is hosted by the Indonesian Nuclear Society (HIMNI), National Nuclear Energy Agency of Indonesia (BATAN), and Gadjah Mada University (UGM). It is organized in cooperation with the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA).

For more information, do not hesitate to contact us via email in contact[at]htr2020.org


  1. National Research Programs and Industrial Projects
    • Specific Program and Project Development
    • Plant and Equipment Development and Construction
    • Operating Experience
    • Test Facilities and Results
  2. Industrial Applications and Markets
    • Design, Engineering and Testing
    • Analytical Methodology
    • Industrial Process Heat
    • Hydrogen Production
    • Desalination
    • Other Applications
  3. Fuel and Waste
    • Fuel Design
    • Fabrication
    • Safety and Qualification
    • Irradiation and PIE
    • Modeling and Simulation
    • Waste Management
  4. Materials, Components and Manufacturing
    • Metallic Material Properties and Performance
    • Non-Metallic Material Properties and Performance
    • Corrosion
    • Irradiation Effects
    • Component Design (Circulators, Hot Gas Ducts, Steam Generators, Heat Exchangers, etc.)
    • Modeling and Simulation
    • Design Codes and Standards
  5. Reactor Physics Analysis
    • Nuclear Data
    • Modeling and Simulation
    • Reactor Physics Methods and Codes
    • Fuel/Core Designs
    • Fuel Cycle Analysis
  6. Computer Codes and Analysis (Thermal-Hydraulics, Structural, Multiphysics)
    • Thermophysical Property Data
    • Thermal-Hydraulics, Fluid Dynamics Methods and Codes
    • Heat Transfer Issues, Methods and Codes
    • Transient and Accident Analysis Methods and Codes
    • Structural Methods and Codes
    • Multi-physics Methods and Codes
    • Fission and Activation Product Transport
    • Flow Induced Vibration
  7. Development, Design and Engineering
    • Progress in New Generation Reactor Designs
    • Plant Dynamics and Control
    • System and Facility Design
    • Economic Assessment
    • Construction Methods and Experience
  8. Safety and Licensing
    • Safety Design and Analysis
    • Accident Analysis and Protection
    • Seismic Analysis and Protection
    • Source Term Evaluation
    • Safety Concepts
    • Licensing Strategies
    • Licensing Application and Development Status

Important dates

  1. Full paper due – Extended to 20 February 2021 (only for accepted abstracts)
  2. Review notification – 28 February 2021
  3. Final paper due – 31 Mar 2021

Keynote Speakers

Nadiem Makarim
Minister of Education, Culture, Research and Technology
Anhar Riza Antariksawan
Chairman of National Nuclear Energy Agency, Republic of Indonesia
Panut Mulyono
Rector of Universitas Gadjah Mada, Indonesia
Jazy Eko Istiyanto
Chairman of Nuclear Energy Regulatory Agency, Republic of Indonesia
M. Hadid Subki
Senior Nuclear Engineer, IAEA
Taiju Shibata
Japan Atomic Energy Agency
Jósef Sobolewski
National Centre for Nuclear Research (NCBJ)
Jeff Harper
Zhang Zuoyi
Director: Institute of Nuclear and New Energy Technology
Robert Arnold
BEIS Science & Engineering for Climate and Energy, UK

Conference Fee

Students and Retirees200
Student and Retirees (non paper)150
  • Fee includes non-indexed proceedings.
  • Additional USD100 will be charged per paper for indexed proceedings.
  • Fee is to be paid by 15 May 2021.

International Organizing Committee

Chair: Djarot Sulistio Wisnubroto, BATAN / National Research Council

Co-Chair: Michael A. Fütterer, European Commission – Joint Research Centre
                     M. Hadid Subki, International Atomic Energy Agency

  1. Jana Kalivodova, Czech Republic (CVR Rez Centrum výzkumu Řež)
  2. Joël Guidez, France ( Commissariat à l’énergie atomique et aux énergies alternatives (CEA))
  3. Dominique Hittner, France (Hit Tech Relay)
  4. Tetsuaki Takeda, Japan (University of Yamanashi)
  5. Afaque Shams, Netherlands (Nuclear Research & consultancy Group / NRG)
  6. Steven Knol, Netherlands (Nuclear Research & consultancy Group / NRG)
  7. Min Hwan Kim, South Korea ( Korea Atomic Energy Research Institute / KAERI)
  8. Mike Davies, UK (JACOBS)
  9. Eben Mulder, USA (X-Energy)
  10. Paul Demkowicz, USA (Idaho National Laboratory)
  11. Paolo Balestra, USA (Idaho National Laboratory)
  12. Geni Rina Sunaryo, Indonesia (BATAN)
  13. Jat du Toit, South Africa (North West University)
  14. Yassin A. Hassan, USA (Texas A&M University)
  15. Sun Yuliang, China (INET)
  16. Xing L. Yan, Japan, (Japan Atomic Energy Agency)
  17. Syaiful Bakhri, Indonesia, (BATAN)
  18. Nikolay G. Kodochigov, Russian Federation, (OKBM)
  19. Frederik Reitsma, France (USNC)
  20. M. Hadid Subki, IAEA
  21. Jerzy Cetnar, Poland (AGH University of Science and Technology)
  22. Manuel A. Pouchon, Switzerland (Paul Scherrer Institute)
  23. Muhammad Subekti, Indonesia (BATAN)
  24. Topan Setiadipura, Indonesia (BATAN)
  25. Taiju Shibata, Japan (JAEA)
  26. Frederic Damian, France (CEA)
  27. Finis Southworth, USA (ex-Framatome)
  28. Bing Liu, China (INET)
  29. Li Fu, China (INET)
  30. Jim Kuijper, Netherlands (NUCLIC)
  31. Rami El-EMAM, IAEA
  32. Jósef Sobolewski, Poland (NCBJ)
  33. Antonio Hurtado, Germany (TU Dresden)
  34. Alexander Agung, Indonesia (University of Gadjah Mada)
  35. Ridwan Indonesia (BATAN)
  36. Ratiko, Indonesia (BATAN)
  37. Budi Rohman, Indonesia (BAPETEN)
  38. Sriyana, Indonesia (BATAN)